Sunday, March 22, 2026

First Win for 2026 v Titans

I don't think it was a bust out the champagne kind of win on Sunday - we were at home, it was the Titans, and it was perhaps a closer match than you'd like. But it was still a win on Sunday.


We saw a mixture of good and bad things:

The good: Drinkwater in attack, Luki's involvement, good minutes for Lahrs, impact off Lodge of the bench, our handling (88% completion) in what seemed greasy gonditions

The bad: Drinkwater in defence, how clunky we looked going wide, the Chester high tackle

*Drinkwater is fully Jeckle & Hyde. Scored a ripper from inside his own half, made the break to set up the 1st for Muzz, and played a key role in our final try. Equally he had a hand in all 3 of the Titans tries. Frustrating. I still think the good outweighs the bad, but I can understand why some think differently. 

*Luki seems to be well and truely back after last year's knee reco. Didn't do anything spectacular, but he racked up 159m of running and was consantly a handful both coming out of our end or close to their line.

*We're kinda keeping Lahrs in cotton wool a bit, but it's good to see hom out there and playing good footy. 

*Lodge. I was critical of his signing, but he had a good impact yesterday. Good meters and came up with some strong efforts in defence

*Looking bad when we went wide. I was amazed how clunky it seemed - mistimed runs galore, players conceding for tackles so they wouldn't be penalised,  forwards getting in the way. It wasn't polished or slick. And it should be - both our centres are good ball players. Just wondering if it's a case of too many cooks and not enough people running strong lines. 

*Chester's high tackle. Pretty meaningless in the context of the game, but I've no doubt he'll get a week or 2 at the judiciary. Disappointing given he's growing into his centre role. Admittedly VV and Laybutt will be available for next week. 

Storm will be hard to beat next week - obviously a much sterner test than the Titans, especially with them coming off a loss. I do though feel that we kind of get a free swing at this - no expectation, nothing to lose

No comments:

Post a Comment

First Win for 2026 v Titans

I don't think it was a bust out the champagne kind of win on Sunday - we were at home, it was the Titans, and it was perhaps a closer ma...