Wednesday, July 16, 2025

A great squad?

A constant refrain from the Cowboys fans is that we have a very strong playing group and we should be doing better.

Do we though really have a great squad?

I think we have some elite players (and once elite players) who provide something of a veneer over the true state of our squad.

Let go through and evaluate our current team:


Elite players (almost automatic picks for starting SOO)

Dearden, Cotter, Robson, Taulagi

Near elite players (fringe SOO starters/often in discussions)

Nanai, Drinkwater

Rock solid First Graders - auto picks every week

McLean (currently injured), Hess, Bateman (currently injured)

-------Threshold of would you'd ideally like to be playing---------

Promising but still finding feet in top grade & team

Laybutt, Purdue, Mikaele, Lahrs

Solid enough but kinda unremarkable

Vailea (currently injured), McIntyre (currently injured), Burns, Neame, Edwards, Clifford (currently injured)

-------Threshold of who should be in the 17 at all---------

Often picked, but probably shouldn't be

O'Donnell, Lawton

Greenhorns

Duffy, Kalepo 

Not selectable right now

Derby 

Basically untested

Paulo 

Chronically/Long Term Injured

BigJase, Luki, Valemei, Chester


I think it's impressive that we have 6 elite or near elite players, but I think the fact we have so few rock solid first graders is why I question where our squad is at. We should have 7 or 8 of these solid first graders, not 3. 

It means we're really reliant on fringe players & up and comers to fill out our 17. 1 or 2 of these guys is fine, but half the team? The fringe guys & up and comers don't bend the line running the ball, are a bit looser with their handling, miss a few more tackles and perhaps take some wrong options at key moments. And that hurts. 

I'd actually be much happier to have 1 or 2 less elite players if we were able to add 3 or 4 solid first graders. 

I simply don't though think this is a top 4 squad. I think it's actually a bottom half squad, with a sprinkling of quality players. We're also battling a lot of injuries at the moment

(note: I understand Drinky's recent form has been patchy, Mikaele has perhaps not gotten enough game time & some people believe Clifford is the second coming. Happy to hear the thoughts of others).


No comments:

Post a Comment

First Win for 2026 v Titans

I don't think it was a bust out the champagne kind of win on Sunday - we were at home, it was the Titans, and it was perhaps a closer ma...